U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

State Challenge Activities

NCJ Number
Date Published
September 1996
8 pages
This report discusses the eligibility criteria for State Challenge Grants under the 1992 reauthorization of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974, outlines the 10 Challenge Activities set forth in the law, and describes the types of activities in each State.
Challenge Grants serve as an incentive to develop and improve policies and programs involving one or more of the Challenge Activities through seed grants to enhance juvenile justice and juvenile delinquency prevention programs and systems. Challenge Activities include such areas as system services, access to counsel, community-based alternatives, violent juvenile offender facilities, gender bias, State ombudsman, deinstitutionalization of juvenile status offenders and nonoffenders, alternatives to suspension and expulsion, aftercare services, and State agency coordination. Applicants eligible to receive Challenge Grants are the State agencies that receive formula grants program awards under Part B of Title II of the law. These agencies may carry out Challenge Activities or award subgrants to contract with public and private agencies to develop challenge activities. Figure, table, and lists of technical assistance providers and State juvenile justice specialists

Date Published: September 1, 1996