This file is provided for reference purposes only. It was current when produced, but is no longer maintained and may now be outdated. Please send an email for questions or for further information.
DOJ Press Release letterhead

  • Thursday, May 12, 2011
  • Contact: Office of Justice Programs
  • Telephone: Kara McCarthy
  • 202-307-1241


SORNA Deadline is July 27

WASHINGTON - WASHINGTON ? The Department of Justice today announced that Michigan, Nevada, Wyoming, and the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians in Michigan have substantially implemented the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA), Title I of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006. These four jurisdictions, along with Ohio, Delaware, South Dakota, Florida, Guam, the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, and the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, have substantially implemented SORNA.

"We are pleased four more jurisdictions have substantially implemented this important legislation," said Linda Baldwin, Director of the Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking (SMART). "We are aggressively working with the remaining states, tribes and territories on their implementation efforts before the July 27 deadline."

"Achieving substantial implementation of SORNA is the culmination of substantial efforts put forth by many people in the Wyoming government since 2007," said Kevin R. Smith, Deputy Director of Wyoming's CJIS. "This work has been and continues to be conducted with the vision to protect Wyoming communities. We are pleased to finally meet SORNA requirements."

Derek J. Bailey, Tribal Chairman, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians, said, "The Grand Traverse Band is committed to the safety and well being of its citizenship, and through acquiring SORNA Substantial Compliance, the Tribe has progressed a further step in making our communities a safer place for individuals and families."

Under Federal law, states failing to implement SORNA by July 27, 2011, will be subjected to a ten percent reduction in Byrne Justice Assistance Grant funding.


The Office of Justice Programs (OJP), headed by Assistant Attorney General Laurie O. Robinson, provides federal leadership in developing the nation's capacity to prevent and control crime, administer justice, and assist victims. OJP has seven bureaus and offices: the Bureau of Justice Assistance; the Bureau of Justice Statistics; the National Institute of Justice; the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention; the Office for Victims of Crime; the Community Capacity Development Office, and the Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking (SMART). More information about OJP and its components can be found at