This file is provided for reference purposes only. It was current when produced, but is no longer maintained and may now be outdated. Please send an email for questions or for further information.
DOJ Press Release letterhead

  • Friday, June 18, 2010
  • Office of Justice Programs
  • Contact: Sarah Matz
  • (202) 307-0703


WASHINGTON - The Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs (OJP) today announced more than $300,000 in grant funding to 16 additional local governments under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program. A total of 3,416 units of local government are eligible for a direct JAG Recovery Act award. Funding is used to prevent and control crime and improve the criminal justice system.

"This funding will play an important role in helping local communities address their criminal justice challenges," said Assistant Attorney General Laurie Robinson. "These funds will help our partners fight crime and build safer communities.?

The JAG Program is the primary provider of federal criminal justice funding to state and local jurisdictions and is managed by OJP's Bureau of Justice Assistance. JAG funds support all components of the criminal justice system, from multi-jurisdictional drug and gang task forces to crime prevention and domestic violence programs, courts, corrections, treatment, and justice information sharing initiatives. Projects may address crime through the provision of services directly to individuals and/or communities and by improving the effectiveness and efficiency of criminal justice systems, processes, and procedures. For more details on the JAG Program visit

The procedure for allocating JAG grants is based on a formula of population and violent crime statistics, in combination with a minimum allocation to ensure that each state and territory receives an appropriate share of funding. Sixty percent of the allocation is awarded directly to a state and 40 percent is set aside for units of local government. The list of 16 local jurisdictions and award amounts are as follows:

City of Denmark SC $14,591.00
City of East Wenatchee WA $24,003.00
City of Ft. Meade FL $13,951.00
City of Guymon OK $18,841.00
City of Hinton WV $14,735.00
City of Katy TX $47,016.00
City of Newport TN $36,182.00
City of Shafter CA $28,844.00
County of Crook WY $11,606.00
County of Southampton VA $25,114.00
Houston County TX $18,546.00
Roane County WV $13,262.00
Surry County VA $16,489.00
Town of Moorefield WV $15,718.00
Town of South Hill VA $19,786.00
Unicoi County TN $11,619.00

The Office of Justice Programs (OJP), headed by Assistant Attorney General Laurie O. Robinson, provides federal leadership in developing the nation?s capacity to prevent and control crime, administer justice, and assist victims. OJP has seven components: the Bureau of Justice Assistance; the Bureau of Justice Statistics; the National Institute of Justice; the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention; the Office for Victims of Crime; the Community Capacity Development Office, and the Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking. More information about OJP can be found at