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AGQU'ISiTIQNS 

CRIME VICTIM LEGISLATION IN MINNESOTA: AN OVERVIEW 

This information brief summarizes the major features of laws that have been 
enacted in Minnesota over the past thirteen years to protect the rights and 
interests of crime victims. 
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I. Topical Summary of Victims Rights Legislation 

A. FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR VICTIMS 
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Reparations. Under Minnesota Statutes, sections 611A.51 to 611A.67, a 
person who has been the victim of a crime in Minnesota and who has suffered 
economic loss as a direct result of injury or death, may apply for and receive 
reparations from the state. The victim is eligible for reparations regardless 
of whether or not the perpetrator is prosecuted for the crime. The types of 
economic loss for which reparations may be paid are: medical and hospital 
expenses, expenses incurred for necessary psychiatric or psychological services, 
loss of income greater than $50, expenses incurred for necessary child care or 
household services, funeral, burial or cremation expenses, and loss of support. 
The victim must pay the first $100 of economic loss, and the maximum amount of 
reparations that may be paid to an individual is $50,000. Claims are submitted 
to a five member reparations board which reviews them indiVidually and decides 
the amount of reparations to which the victim is entitled. 1~e Board receives 
funding for reparations from a number of sources, including the state general 
fund, payments made under the "Son of Sam" law (see below), and penalty 
assessments or surcharges imposed on state and federal crimes. 

Restitution. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135 authorizes the 
sentencing judge to stay execution or imposition of sentence and place the 
defendant on probation under such conditions as the judge may prescribe. One of 
these conditions of probation can be the payment of restitution. Indeed, if the 
defendant is not ordered to serve jail-time as a condition of probation, the 
statute directs the sentencing judge to order a n~ninstitutiona1 sanction, such 
as the payment of restitution, where practicable. Payment of restitution may 
also be ordered in cases where sentence is imposed and executed. See Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 609.10 and 609.125. 

According to Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.04, every victim of 
crime, including a corporation that incurs loss or harm as a result of a crime, 
has a right to request that restitution be considered by the judge at the time 
of sentencing or after sentencing if the offender is on probation or supervised 
release and the true extent of the victim's loss was not known at the time of 
sentencing. The Crime Victims Reparations Board may also seek restitution on 
behalf of a reparations. claimant. The restitution request must itemize the 
amounts claimed and the reasons justifying these amounts. If the court denies 
restitution, it must state on the record its reasons for doing so. 
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If restitution is ordered but not paid, the victim may seek enforcement 
of the order in the same manner as he or she would seek enforcement of a civil 
judgment. See section 611A.04, subdivision 3. Restitution may also be 
collected from the offender's tax refund, if any. In addition, if restitution 
was ordered as a condition of probation, the court may revoke probation for 
failure to pay, and sentence the offender to prison or payment of a fine. 
Legislation enacted in 1986 and 1987 requires probation officers to seek a 
probation review hearing if restitution has not been paid by an adult or 
juvenile offender 60 days prior to the ex.liration of probation. Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 609.135, subdivision 1a and 260.185, subdivision 3a. The 
1986 "legislation also requires clerks of court to keep track of the amount of 
restitution ordered in each case, any changes to the restitution order and the 
amount of restitution actually paid by the offender, and to forward the data to 
the state court administrator. The reason for this provision is to gather 
statistics on the degree to which victims are, in fact, being compensated for 
economic injury by means of restitution payments. See Laws 1986, che.pter 463, 
section 10. 

Finally, the 1987 Legislature enacted statutory procedures for 
attaching and freezing the financial assets of accused felons where there was an 
alleged loss of $10,000 or more as a result of the crime and where an attachment 
order is necessary to ensure eventual restitution to victims of the crime. Laws 
1987, chapter 217. 

"Son of Sam" Law. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A. 68, colloquially 
known as the "Son of Sam" law, prohibits convicted felony offenders in Minnesota 
from profiting by exploiting the crime in the media or through the entertainment 
industry. Any person or organization that enters into a ~ontract with a felony 
offender for the reenactment of or an interview about the crime must forward any 
money owed to the offender under the contract to the Minnesota Crime Victims 
Reparations Board. Any victim of the offender's crime who obtains a civil 
judgment for damages against the offender within five years of the time money is 
received by the Board may seek payment of the judgment from the Board. Money 
remaining after five years is returned to the offender if there are no pending 
victim claims for the funds. Moreover, if ordered by a. court the Board must pay 
from the offender's account reasonable legal expenses related the offender's 
appeal of the felony conviction or defense against victims claims for damages. 

B. PROTECTION OF VICTIMS FROM HARM 

Tampering With a Witness. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.498 
prohibits any person from using force, threats, or coercion to prevent or 
dissuade another person from being a witness in any legal proceeding or from 
reporting a crime to the police. The law also protects such witnesses for a 
period of one year from the time the testimony is taken or police report is 
made. Legislation enacted in 1987 expands the crime of witness tampering to 
include coercing a witness into testifying falsely at a legal proceeding or 
providing false information to law enforcement authorities. Laws 1987, chapter 
194. The criminal penalty for the offense is either a five year felony or a 
gross misdemeanor, depending on the degree of force used or attempted. 
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Address Protection. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A. 035 provides 
that a crime victim or witness who provides testimony in court proceedings may 
not be compelled to state his or her home or business address on the record in 
open court unless the court finds that the testimony would be relevant evidence. 

Secure Waiting Area. Minnesota Statutes, section 61lA.034 requires 
courts, if possible, to provide victims with a waiting area during court 
proceedings that is separate from the waiting area used by the defendant, 
defense witnesses, and the defendant's relatives. If a. separate waiting area is 
n.ot feasible, the court must provide other safeguards to minimize the victim's 
contact with such people during court proceedings. 

Employer Retaliation. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.036 prohibits 
employers from discharging, disciplining, or threatening to discharge or 
discipline an employee because the employee has been subpoenaed or requested to 
testify as a victim in court. An employer who violates this provision is guilty 
of a misdemeanor and may be punished for contempt of court. The court must also 
order the employer to offer job reinstatement to the employee and to pay back 
wages, as appropriate. 

C. VICTIM NOTIFICATION OF EVENTS IN THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM 

Notice of Plea Bargain Agreements. Minnesota Statutes, section 
611A.03 requires that prosecuting attorneys make a good faith effort to inform 
crime victims of the contents of plea bargain. agreements before presenting the 
plea agreement to the court. The prosecutor must also inform the victim of his 
or her right to be present at the sentencing hearing to express in writing any 
objections the victim may have to the proposed disposition. If the victim is 
not present at the hearing but has communicated these objections to the 
prosecutor, the prosecutor shall communicate the objections to the court. 

Notice of Change in Court Schedule. 
611A.033 requires prosecutors to make reasonable 
notice of any change in the court's proceedings 
subpoenaed or requested to testify. 

Minnesota Statutes, section 
efforts to provide advance 

to any victim who has been 

Notice of Rights at Sentencing. Minnesota Statutes, sections 609.115, 
subdivision lc and Laws 1987, chapter 331, section 12 require any probation 
officer conducting a presentence investigation of a convicted person to notify 
the victim of the following events and victim rights related to the sentencing 
hearing: (a) the charge of which the defendant has been convicted or to which 
he or she has pled guilty; (b) the victim's right to request restitution; (c) 
the time and place of the sentencing hearing and the victim's right to be 
present at it; and (d) the victim's right to object in writing to the proposed 
disposition prior to the time of sentencing. 
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Notice of Offender. Release From Confinement. Minnesota Statutes, 
section 611A.06 requires the commissioner of corrections or other custodial 
authority to make a good faith effort to notify the victim that an offender is 
to be (a) released from imprisonment or incarceration, including release on work 
release or extended furlough, or (b) released from a facility in which the 
offender was confined due to incompetency, mental illness or deficiency, or 
civil commitment as mentally ill and dangerous. The victim must have requested 
this notice in writing prior to the offender I s release. All identifying 
information about the victim, including the victim's request and the notice of 
release are classified as private data under the Minnesota government data 
practices act. 

D.. VICTIM PARTICIPATION IN THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM 

Victim Input Regarding Pretrial Diversion. Minnesota Statutes, 
section ~11A.031 requires prosecutors to make every reasonable effort to notify 
and seek input from the victim before referring persons accused of certain 
serious crimes into a pretrial diversion program in lieu of prosecution. 

Victim Input Regarding Plea Bargain Agreement. Minnesota Statutes, 
section 611A.03 permits a victim to express to the sentencing court in writing 
any objections he or she may have to the contents of a plea agreement that the 
prosecutor is presenting to the court. 

Victim's Right to Request a Speedy Trial. Minnesota Statutes, section 
611A.033 permits a victim to request the prosecutor to make a speedy trial 
demand under the criminal procedure rules and thereby cause the trial to begin 
within 60 days. The prosecutor must make reasonable efforts to comply with the 
victim's request. 

Right to the Presence of a Supportive Person at Pretrial Hearing. 
Minnesota Statutes, section 631.046 states that a prosecuting witness in a child 
abuse or rape case may choose to be accompanied by a supportive person at the 
omnibus or pretrial hearing and, in child abuse cases, at trial. If the 
supportive person has also been called as a witness, the court may nonetheless 
permit him or her to be present if it finds that there is no substantial risk 
that the supportive person's later testimony will be influenced by his or her 
presence at the proceeding. 

Victim Impact Statement in the Presentence Investigation Report. 
Minnesota Statutes, section 609.115, subdivision 1b (recodified as Minnesota 
Statutes, section 611A.037 by Laws 1987, chapter 331, section 12) requires every 
presentence investigation report to contain a "victim impact statement" 
consisting of the following information: (a) a summary of the damages or harm 
and any other problems generated by the criminal occurrence; (b) a concise 
statement of what disposition the victim deems appropriate for the defendant, 
including the reasons given, if any, by the victim in support of his or her 
opinion; and (c) an attachment to the report consisting of the victim's written 
objections, if any, to the proposed disposition if these objections are given to 
the preparer of the report sufficiently in advance of the disposition. 
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Programs for Victims 2f Sexual Attack. Minnesota Statutes, section 
611A.21 requires the commi~sioner of corrections to develop a statewide 
community-based program to aid victims of reported sexual attacks. These 
programs may include but need not be limited to counseling and payment of other­
wise unreimbursed medical expenses for treatment and examinations made necessary 
by the sexual attack. The commissioner is also directed by section 611A.22 to 
do the following: (a) encourage county attorneys to assign prosecutors who are 
trained in sensitivity and understanding of victims of sexual attack; (b) assist 
in the development of programs to provide training to peace officers in 
sensitivity and understanding of victims of sexual attack, and encourage the 
assignment of trained peace officers to question victims of sexual attack; and 
(c) encourage hospital administrators to place a high priority on the 
expeditious treatment of victims of sexual attack, and to employ personnel 
trained in sensitivity and understanding of such victims. 

Programs for Battered Women. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.31 
directs the commissioner of corrections to award grants to designated programs 
that provide emergency shelter services and support services to battered women. 
The commissioner is also mandated to award grants for th~ development and 
implementation of educational programs designed to promote public and 
professional awareness of the problems of battered women. 

Crime Victim Crisis Centers. Minnesota Statutes, section 61lA.41 
directs the commissioner of corrections to establish at least two operational 
crime victim crisis centers. The functions of the crisis centers are enumerated 
in section 611A.43, and include: direct crisis intervention, transportation of 
victims to needed 'emergency services, investigation of available financial 
resources for individual victims, referral of victims to existing needed victim 
services, and other coordinating and educational activities. 

Crime Victim and Witness Advisory Council. Minnesota Statutes, 
section 611A.71 creates a Crime Victim and Witness Advisory Council, consisting 
of 15 members" for the purpose of centralizing oversight and advocacy services 
for victims at the statewide level. The council includes representatives from 
the legislature and the judiciary, as well as police officers, prosecutors, 
defense attorneys and crime victims, and is responsible for: (a) reviewing the 
treatment of victims by the system and the need for victim services; (b) 
advising other agencies in the coordination and allocation of federal funds for 
victim assistance; (c) monitoring and advocating for victim-related legislation; 
(d) providing information, training and educational services; and (e) assisting 
in the development of guidelines for and the delivery of victim services. The 
executive director of the council is also responsible for superv~s1ng the 
administration of the crime victims reparations act and the crime victim 
ombudsman. 

1 
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Crime Victim Ombudsman. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.74 creates 
the office of crime victim ombudsman. The ombudsman is appointed by the 
commissioner of public safety with the advice of the crime victim and witness 
advisory council, and is directly accountable to the executive director of the 
advisory council. The purpose of the ombudsman is to investigate possible 
violations of the rights of crime victims, the delivery of victims services, the 
administration of the reparations act, and complaints of mistreatment of victims 
by the criminal justice system. If the o~budsman finds that a complaint is 
valid, he or she may make recommendations based on that finding to the 
appropriate authorities. 

Penal ty Assessments. Minnesota Statutes, section 609.101 imposes a 
penalty surcharge or assessment on all persons who are convicted of crimes other 
than parking or traffic offenses. The amount imposed is either 10% of the 
offender's fine or, if there is no fine imposed, an amount between $20 and $40. 
The penalty assessment or surcharge may be waived by the court in cases of 
indigency or undue financial hardship. Moneys received by the courts under this 
section must be forwarded to the commissioner of finance for deposit in a special 
account in the state treasury called the crime victim and witness account. 
Money credited to the account may be used for victim re'parations, the Crime 
Victim and Witness Advisory Council, and to supplement federally-funded 
activities of the crime victim ombudsman. 

Minimum Fines. Laws 1987, chapter 404, section 189 requires courts to 
impose minimum fines of between $100 and $300, depending on the severity of the 
offense, on persons convicted of assault or sexual assault. The court must 
for~ard 70 percent of the fine proceeds to local victim assistance programs and 
the remaining 30 percent to the state treasury to be credited to the crime 
victim and witness account. If there is no local victim assistance program, the 
court must forward all of the fine proceeds to the state treasury. Fine 
proceeds received by local victim assistance programs must be used to provide 
direct services to victims. Fine proceeds deposited in the crime victim and 
witness account may be appropriated to the crime victim and witness advisory 
council and used to establish new victim ass~stance programs. 

Prison Wage Contributions. Minnesota Statutes, sections 241.26 and 
243.23 permit the commissioner of corrections to withhold or the inmate to 
expend up to 20% of a prison inmate's gross wages for the purpose of 
contributing to programs established by law to aid victims of crime. 

Notice of Victims Services. Minnesota Statutes, section 611A. 02 
directs the commissioner of corrections) in cooperation with the executive 
director of the crime victims reparations board, to develop a plan to provide 
victims with notice of those victim services that exist in the geographic area 
where the victim is located. 
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The following is a brief chronological summary of victims rights legislation in 
Minnesota. Details of each of the laws referred to in this section are 
presented more fully in the topical sections of this Information Brief. 

1974. The chronology of victims rights legislation in Minnesota began 
in 1974 with the enactment of the Crime Victims Reparations Act. This 
legislation offered financial compensation to persons who were injured, killed, 
or otherwise damaged by the criminal act of a third party. Financed by state 
appropriations, this Act represented one of the first efforts by the state to 
offer direct aid to crime victims. It was also among the first expressions by 
the Legislature of the notion that the state had a policy interest not only in 
the successful prosecution of criminal offenders, but also in the welfare of the 
offender's victim. The Reparations Act has been amended almost every year since 
1974; however, the amendments have been mainly to fine-tune the Act's 
provisions, and it remains substantially in the same form as it was originally 
passed almost 12 years ago. In addition to the Reparations Act, the 1974 
Legislature also created a new program to aid victims of sexual assault. 

1976. In 1976, the Legislature made it a crime to tamper with a 
witness or a potential witness to any legal proceeding. This crime prohibited 
the use of force, violence, or coercion to prevent or dissuade a witness from 
attending or testifying at any trial or other legal proceeding .. 

1977. The 1977 Legislature directed the commissioner of corrections to 
establish-at1'east two "victim crisis centers" in the state. These centers were 
statutorily designed to offer direct services to crime victims as well as 
general educational functions in the geographic area. That year, the 
Legislature also explicitly authorized sentencing judges to order convicted 
offenders to pay restitution to their victims as a condition of probation. 

1979. In 1979, the Legislature enacted legislation prohibiting 
convicted felons from profiting commercially from their crimes. Known 
colloquially as the "Son of Sam" law, this legislation required persons who 
enter into contracts with convicted felons regarding the reenactment of the 
crime in movie, book, or other entertainment form, to forward the profits of the 
venture to the Crime Victims Reparations Board for payment to the victim or 
victims of the Offender's crime. 

1981. In 1981, the Legislature passed a bill designed to provide 
funding for victims services from a new source: persons convicted of crimes 
other than traffic or parking violations. This legislation imposed a fine 
surcharge equal to 10% of the person's fine or, if no fine was imposed, a 
penalty assessment of between $20 and $40. The surcharge or assessment could 
be wai ved by the sentencing judge under circumstances of indigency or undue 
hardship. 



Crime Victims Legislation in Minnesota: An Overview REVISED~June 1987 
Page 9 

1983. 1983 was perhaps the most significant year for victims 
legislation in Minnesota since the passage of the Reparations Act in 1974. In 
1983, the Legislature enacted: the so-called "Crime Victims Bill of Rights" 
which, among other things, provided crime victims with notice of certain events 
in the prosecution of the crime of which they were victimized, and provided them 
with certain limited rights of participation in that criminal process. The 
significance of this legislation lay primarily in the public policy that it 
expressed; namely, that a criminal prosecution is not solely a matter between 
the offender and the state, and that the victim has a separate interest in the 
outcome which, though secondary to that of the state, is nonetheless publicly 
recognized. 

1984. The 1984 Legislature shifted its focus from victim involvement 
in the system back to victim compensation by enacting legislation expanding the 
authority of sentencing courts to order the payment of restitution and 
expressing a preference for the use of restitution and other types of 
noninstitutional sanctions in cases where incarceration is not ordered. 

1985. In 1985, the Legislature further enhanced the usefulness of 
resti tutiOilOrders by simplifying the procedure through which the victim may 
seek civil enforcement of the order in court. The Legislature also authorized 
the commissioner of corrections and prison inmates to withhold up to 20% of 
earned prison wages for the purpose of funding victims services programs. 
Finally, in response to recommendations made by a Task Force on Crime Victims 
established by the Attorney General, the Legislature created a Crime Victim and 
Witness Advisory Council to centralize the oversight of victims programs, 
services and legislation in Minnesota and to advocate for any needed changes. 
The Legislature also created a crime victims ombudsman to investigate possible 
violations of the rights of individual crime victims or witnesses by the 
criminal justice system and to act as a liaison between the aggrieved victim or 
witness and the agency +esponsible for the complaint. 

1986. The 1986 Legislature added a number of new rights to the Crime 
Victims 13ill of Rights previously enacted in 1983 to further increase the 
ability of victims to participate in the criminal justice process and achieve 
satisfaction of restitution orders, and to minimize the potentially adverse 
effects of the victim's participation in the criminal prosecution. 

1987. Most recently, the 1987 Legislature made several changes to the 
statutes governing victim restitution to broaden their coverage and further 
simplify their enforcement. Second, the 1987 Legislature added several new 
provisions designed to further safeguard the personal safety of victims. Third, 
the Legislature enacted new measures to provide funding for victims services by 
means of criminal fine proceeds. And finally, the 1987 Legislature specified 
that at least one member of the Sentencing Guidelines Commission must have been 
the victim of a felony-level crime. 




