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JiM EDGAR
SECRETARY OF STATE

SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62756

The steady evolution of Illinois’ laws governing driving under the influence of ¢
alcohol and other drugs (DUI) has placed our state in the forefront of the national
effort to curb this serious traffic offense. The most recent legislative change was

; the enactment of the statutory summary suspension law Jan. 1, 1986. This statute
i provides that an offender automatically loses driving privileges following a DUI
arrest when the results of a chemical test indicate a blood alcohol concentration

: (BAC) of .10 or greater or for refusing to complete a chemical test. During 1986,
47,000 offenders lost driving privileges under this provision. This is almost four

¢ times the number who lost driving privileges during 1985.

Several other important laws became effective in 1986. Illinois drivers under
age 21 were issued color-coded drivers licenses which clearly identify them as
being under the minimum legal drinking age. Victims of DUI personal injury or
fatal crashes and their families were granted certain, rights providing information
on the progress and disposition of cases. In addition, penalties were increased for
reckless homicide, a DUI crash resulting in great bodily harm, providing aleohol to
someone under age 21 and a DUI conviction for a driver under age 21.

_ The new deterrent-based laws are changing the public’s attitude and driving
| behavior. More people think before they drink and drive because they realize the
{ serious consequences of a DUIT arrest.

Victims’ groups as well as concerned citizens are continuing to devote their
efforts to educate the public about the DUI problems and solutions. I hope you will
join these citizens by becoming part of the solution. Eiducation is the key to pre-
venting needless DUI tragedies. We must all work together to educate our family,
friends and neighbors of the seriousness of DUL

Qo Ca

Jim Edgar
Secretary of State
Chairman, Illinois DUI Task Force
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e In 1986, it is estimated that more
than 28,000 people were killed in
vehicle crashes involving drinking
drivers.

® Someone is killed in an aleohol-
related crash every 23 minutes.

e Aleohol is a factor in at least 820,000
injury accidents and 1.5 million pro-
perty damage crashes.

e Between 10 p.m. and 3 a.m. on
Friday or Saturday night, one of
every 10 drivers is legally drunk. In
fatal accidents involving a single
vehicle, almost two-thirds (64 per-
cent) of the drivers are legally
drunk.

e Tor every drunk driver arrested, an
estimated 500 to 2,000 go undetected.

® Almost 60 percent of fatally injured
teenage drivers (age 15-19) were
found to have been drinking prior to
their crash.

@ Forty-three states and the District of
Columbia enforee a minimum drink-
ing age of 21.

Traffic Safety Facts and the Effects of Alcohol

Nationall>

o Currently, 22 states impose some
form of summary suspension or
similar drivers license sanction in
addition to the penalty for a DUI
conviction.

In Illinois

e During 1986, approximately 800 per-
sons were killed in vehicle aceidents
involving drinking drivers.

e During 1986, the number of DUI
drivers license suspensions and
revocations in effect was almost four
times the number of those in effect
in 1985.

® Drivers under age 21 represent 10
percent of all licensed drivers but
are involved in 19 percent of all
aleohol-related fatal erashes.

® During 1986, 92 percent of persons
arrested for DUI in Illinois lost their
driving privileges.

e In 1986, the Secretary of State’s
office recorded 55,104 DUI arrests.

DUI - The Facts

The effects of alcohol consumption on
the body depend on a variety of factors.
The amount of alecohol consumed and the
rate at which it is consumed are prime
determinants of alecohol’s effects on an
individual. Additionally, such elements ag
body weight, amount of food consumed,
mood, environment and alcohol tolerance
are also contributing factors.

1986 BAC Levels
of Drivers Who
Failed a Chemical Test

Percent of Arrested Drivers
40%

30%

1519 20.24 25>
BAC Level

10 -.14

From the first drink, aleohol affects
coordination and judgment. Vision and
depth perception can become distorted;
emotions and moods can become unpre-
dictable. Even with a blood aleohol con-
centration (BAC) below the legal limit of
.10 (1/10th of one percent), reaction time
slows. Medical reports and driving
demonstrations have shown that most
individuals are functioning at an
impaired level when their BAC reaches
.05. The chances of a driver with a BAC
of .05 being involved in a crash more
than doubles. A driver with a BAC of .10
is six times more likely to have a crash
than a sober driver. Further, a driver
with a BAC of .15 is 25 times more likely
to have a crash, while a driver with a
BAC of .20 is 100 times movre likely to
have a crash.

Only time will remove the effects of
aleohol. It takes about one hour per drink
to metabolize the alcohol. Neither coffee,
showers, nor food will speed the process.

Effects of
Alcohol




A Profile of Drinking Drivers and DUI Penalties

The In Iiinois, a person is legally con- the highest DUI rate (28.1 per 1,000
Drinking sidered to be under the influence with a licensed drivers). This rate was more
Driver BAC .10 percent or greater. The concen- than four times higher than the rate of
tration of alcohol in a person’s system is other drivers arrested for DUI (6.8 per
based on the ratio of alcohol te blood or 1,000).
breath. ® Alcohol-related accidents occur
The following are facts about drink- mostly on weekends. Drivers in-
ing drivers in Illinois: volved in these accidents usually
. have a BAC of nearly .20. This figure
¢ 88_percent of arrested drinking is twice the legal level of intoxication
drivers are male. 12 percent are tated in Ilinois |
female. stated in Illinois law.
. s 78 percent of drivers arrested for
° 68'p ercent of arrested drinking DUI are first offenders and 22 per-
drivers are under age 35. .
cent have been previously arrested
e During 1986, males age 21 to 24 had for DUI within the last five years.
1986 Hlinois DUI Arrest Rate
Number of Arrests per 1,000 Licensed Drivers per Age Group
. l B
16 & < 17 18 19 20 21-24  25-34 35-44 45-54 55-64 65& >
Drivers' Ages at Time of Arrest
Penalties First Conviction Subsequent Convictions

DUX Conviction
Age 21 & Over

e Loss of full driving privileges for a o Loss of full driving privileges for a

minimum of one year. (Offender may
apply for a restricted driving
permit.)

minimum of one year. (Offender may
apply for a restricted driving
permit.)

e Mandatory 48 hours in jail or 10
days community service for a second
conviction in a five-year period.

¢ Possible imprisonment for up to one
year.

Maxi fine of $1,000. e
* Maximum fine of § e Possible imprisonment for up to one

year.
e Maximum fine of $1,000.




Penalties for Alcohol-Related Offenses

First Conviction

e Loss of full driving privileges for a
minimum of two years. (Offender
may not seek a restricted driving
permit until the second year of
revocation.)

Subsequent Convictions

® Loss of full driving privileges for a
minimum of one year or until reach-
ing age 21, whichever is longer.
(Offender may not obtain a re-
stricted driving permit under any
circumstance until reaching age 21
or until a minimum of one year after
the last conviction, whichever is
longer.)

Under Age 21
DUI Conviction

First Offense

e A chemical test indicating a BAC of
.10 or greater results in a mandatory
three-month drivers license
suspension.

s Refusal to submit to a chemical
test(s) results in a six-month drivers
license suspension.

Subsequent Offenses

e Refusal to submit to a chemical
test(s), or test results indicating a
BAC of .10 or greater, results in a
mandatory 12-month drivers license
suspension.

Summary
Suspension

First Conviction (If revocation was
for DUI, leaving the scene of a per-
sonal injury or fatal accident, or reck-
less homicide.)

® Extension of drivers license suspen-
sion or revocation.

e Mandatory seven days imprisonment
or 30 days community service. (If
revoeation was for DUI, leaving the
scene of a personal injury or fatal
accident, or reckless homicide.)

® Maximum fine of $1,000.

@ Possible imprisonment for up to one
year.

Subsequent Conviction

Loss of full driving privileges.

Classified as a Class 4 felony.

Possible imprisonment for one to
three years.

e Maximum fine of $10,000.

Driving on a
Suspended or
Revoked License

Felony DUI (Following a crash
resulting in great bodily harm or per-
manent disfigurement)
o Loss of full driving privileges for
a minimum of one year. (Offender
may apply for a restricted driving
permit.)

o (Classified as a Class 4 felony.

@ Possible imprisonment for one to
three years.

e Maximum fine of $10,000.

Providing Alcohol To A Persen
Under Age 21

s Possible imprisonment for up to one
year.

¢ Maximum fine of $1,000.

Illegal Transportation Of An
Alcoholic Beverage

e Maximum fine of $500.

e A point assigned violation will be
entered on the driver’s record.

® Drivers license suspension for a
second conviction in a 12-month
period.

Knowingly Permitting A Driver
Under The Influence To Operate
A Vehicle

e Possible imprisonment for up to one
year.

e Maximum fine of $1,000.

Other Alcohol
Offenses




Arrest and
Conviction

The DUI Arrest and Illinois' DUI Legislative History

Following The Arrest:

¢ You will be read your rights. You
may be handcuffed and will be
transported to the police station or
county jail. You will remain there
until posting bond.

e Your car may be towed at your
expense.

® Attorney fees could cost you
thousands of dollars.

If Convicted:

® You may iose work time.

® You will be required to complete an
alcohol and drug evaluation and
remedial program before your driv-
ing privileges are reinstated.

® You must meet the requirements of
the Department of Administrative
Hearings prior to obtaining a
restricted driving permit through the
office of the Secretary of State.

® You will be subject to high risk
automobile insurance rates, which
total as much as $1,300 or more per
year.

History of
DUI Laws

Almost four times as many DUI
offenders lost their driving privileges in
1986 as in 1985. This dramatic increase in
DUI revocations and suspensions is one
example of swift and certain punishment
for drivers arrested for DUI under the
new statutory summary suspension law.
Since this law went into effect on Jan. 1,
1986, there have been 46,978 individuals
arrested for driving under the influence
of aleohol and other drugs who lost their
driving privileges.

Prior to 1982, Illinois had one of the
most ecomplicated and least effective DUI
laws in the nation. As the result of
legislation enacted during the last five
years, Illinois has the second most effee-
tive DUI law in the nation.

In 1982, a major revision of the Illi-
nois DUI law was enacted. This revision
streamlined DUI arrest procedures and
doubled the penalty for a violation of the
implied consent law. Legislation enacted
in 1984 to supplement the new law pro-
vided additional tools for identifyirrg and
penalizing repeat DUI offenders.

During 1985, the Illinois DUI Task
Force held a series of public hearings
across the state on the DUI problem. As
a result of their research, Task Force
members proposed 59 recommendations
addressing all aspects of the DUI issue.
By January 1986, 52 of the 59 recommen-
dations had been acted upon either
administratively or through legislation.

" SUSPENSIONS AND
REVOCATIONS

19811988

35 0f Dowsrerbor 151 of ther Year ot Areest

1861 © 1962 1983 1egs - (185 1pEs

Secretary of State Jim Edgar announces a fourfold increase in the number of DUI offenders
who lost their driving privileges in 1986 as compared to 1985,
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Statutory Summary Suspension

In response to the persistent nature of

their families are provided certain

History of

the DUI problem, Illinois’ effort is con- rights concerning the progress and DUI Laws
stantly being improved. Effective disposition of the DUI case. (Continued)
January 1986, a number of changes have o A ho. while drivi d
been instituted. These changes include: th]elayi]?f?lz;i%%:,o foélvgo}iﬁ aﬂg}ﬁf :&e‘i‘r
® All drivers who fail or refuse drugs, is involved in a crash which
chemical testing following a DUI results in great bodily harm or per-
arrest shall be subject to a statutory manent disability or disfigurement
summary suspension independent of to another individual shall be guilty
the criminal charges. This suspen- of a Class 4 felony.
sion will begin 45 days after the date .
of failure or refusal of the chemical ® The penalty for reckless homicide
test. First offenders are not eligible was increased from a Class 4 to a
for limited driving privileges until at glassé?» fd?“% punishable by two to
least 30 days of “hard” suspension 1ve years m prison.
have been completed. A driver sub- e The penalty for giving alcohol to
sequently convxc.fed. of DUI also someone under age 21 has been
faces ’m‘andatory drivers license increased from a Class B to a Class
revocation for a minimum of one A misdemeanor, punishable by up to
year. one year in prison.
e All Igigo?s dri\ll_ers are isﬁ?e}? ‘iOIOIi' e It is a Class A misdemeanor for a
'c((i)detif r(livgrs 1cen3es w 1c21c e.i}li y vehicle owner to knowingly allow a
laenlily arivers under age ~. with a driver under the influence to operate
red photo background and the words the vehicle on the highway
“Under 21" plainly printed on both )
sides of the license. e Dram shop liability limits have been
Ll . . i d to $30,000 for personal in-
¢ The victims of DUI personal injury ncrease !
and reckless homicide crashes and jury and $40,000 for loss of support.
During 1986, 92 percent of drivers officer at the time of arrest and a tem- Summary
arrested for DUI who either failed or porary receipt to drive is issued. This Suspension

refused the chemical test lost their driv-
Ing privileges. This high percentage re-
flects the degree of certainty of the
statutory summary suspension. Since this
law went into effect Jan. 1, 1986, there
have been 46,254 drivers who either
failed or refused the chemical test and
lost their driving privileges.

A statutory summary suspension of
driving privileges is imposed when a
driver refuses to submit to a chemical
test following an arrest for DUI or fails
that test. A first offender who voluntarily
submits to a chemical test resulting in a
BAC of .10 or greater will have his or her
driving privileges suspended for three
months. Refusal to submit to a chemical
analysis by the first offender will result
in an automatic six-month suspension of
driving privileges. Repeat offenders will
face 12-month suspensions in either case.

The offender’s drivers license is
confiscated by the law enforcement

receipt is valid for 45 days. The arrest is
then reported to the circuit court and the
Secretary of State’s office.

On the 46th day following the arrest
and notice by the police officer, driving
privileges are automatically suspended
unless a court hearing, requested by the
driver, determines that the arrest pro-
cedure was conducted improperly. The
first offender is not eligible for a judicial
driving permit for the first 30 days of the
suspension. The second or subsequent
offender is not eligible for a restricted
driving permit the first 90 days of the
year-long suspension.

During 1986, 55,104 summary suspen-
sions were received and recorded by this
office. Of those, 78 percent (42,789) were
first offenders and 22 percent (12,315)
were repeat offenders. Seventy-three
percent (40,269) had failed the chemical
test and 27 percent (14,835) refused to
submit to the test.
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Statutory Summary Suspension

Summary Drivers with a Summary Suspension
U nsion . .
Suspensio Multiple Offenders Refused the Chemical Test
22% 27%
N
78% 73%
First Offenders Failed the Chemical Test
Judicial A driver may request a judicial hear-  in order that this information can be
Hearings ing to challenge the imposition of a sum-  entered on the driver’s record.

mary suspension. According to state law,
the judicial hearing must be conducted
within 80 days of the request or on the
first court date scheduled for considera-
tion of the criminal charge. Only four
particular issues may be considered

at the judicial hearing. These issues
include:

® Whether, in fact, the person was
placed under arrest;

¢ Whether there were reasonable
grounds to believe the person was
driving or in physical control of the
vehicle while under the influence of
alcohol or other drugs at the time of
arrest.

o Whether the driver, after being
informed of the impending summary
suspension, refused to submit to
chemical testing, or;

¢ Whether, after being advised of the
statutory summary suspension, the
driver submitted to chemical testing
which showed a blood aleohol con-
centration (BAC) .10 percent or
greater.

If it is found that the driver’s BAC is

below .10 percent, the court will order the

Secretary of State to rescind the suspen-
sion. The Office of the Secretary of State
is notified of the disposition of the case

There were 55,104 statutory summary
suspensions issued to drivers in 1986.
However, only 18 percent (9,662) of those
individuals requested a judicial hearing.
Of those, 56 percent (5,313) of the hear-
ings resulted in continuing the suspen-
sion and 44 percent (4,249) resulted in a
rescission of the suspension.

Drivers with a Summary

Suspension
Suspension
Upheld
. 10%
Suspension
Rescinded /

82%

Had No
Hearing




Lim:ited Driving Privileges, Reinstatement

and License Revocations

Judicial Driving Permiit

Following a summary suspension, a
judicial driving permit (JDP) may be
requested from the court by a first time
offender. The offender must prove that
a hardship exists and provide a current
professional aleohol and drug evaluation
before consideration can be given to the
issuance of the permit. The JDP will not
become effective for the first offender
until at least the 81st day of the
suspension.

In 1986, there were 39,533 first
offenders whose summary suspensions
were not rescinded. Of those, 28 percent
or 10,979 drivers were issued a JDP. A
study of those first offenders who were
issued JDP’s indicated that 70 percent
were rated as Level I (non-problematie
users), 25 percent were Level II (prob-
lematic users), and 5 percent were Level
III (aleohol/chemical dependent).

A driver with a second or subsequent

summary suspension is not eligible for a
JDP, but may apply to the Secretary of
State’s office for a restricted driving per-
mit. (The process for obtaining an RDP
may be found at the bottom of page 11.)

First Offenders with a
Summary Suspension

Issued a JDP

72%
Not Issued a JDP

Limited
Driving
Privileges

At the end of the statutory summary
suspension period, the driver may
request reinstatement from the courts.
The requirements for having driving
privileges reinstated include:

o The driver must satisfy any other
suspension or ravocation on his driv-
ing record prior to reinstatement.

e There is a $30 reinstatement fee
which must be paid to the court.

e The reinstatement becomes valid
only when it is entered on the
driver’s record.

The driver must receive a letter from
the Secretary of State’s office ac-
knowledging the reinstatement of his
license before he can drive. During 1986,
10,988 drivers were reinstated following
their summary suspension.

Summary
Suspension
Reinstatement

In addition to the summary suspen-
sion being processed, the DUI criminal
charge will be prosecuted and adjudi-
cated in the courts. If a person is con-
victed of DUI, any time served on the

sunimary suspension will be credited to
tlie one year minimum revocation period.
During 1986, 26,776 drivers licenses were
revoked, an increase of four percent over
1985.

Drivers License Revocations*

30000

1972 713 74 IS 76 77

78

pasas

79 '80 '81 '82 83 ‘84

e
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* Graph represents the total number of DUI revocations per year regardless of the date or year of arrest.
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Summary Suspension Results and

Case Dispositions

Resulés During 1986, 46,798 summary suspen- dramatically, the summary suspension
sions and DUI revocations went into law has not reduced the number of per-
effect. This is almost four times the num-  sons convicted of DUIL DUI convictions
ber of DUI revocations and implied con- increased eight percent in 1986
sent suspensions in effect for 1985 (8,7569) as compared to 1985 (8,079).
(13,047) and more than seven times those  Similarly, the percentage of DUI case
imposed in 1981 (6,399). dispositions (supervisions and convie-

While th ber of dri losi tions) that resulted in convictions was 34
Jvarle the number ol arivers losing percent in 1986 compared to 32 percent
their driving privileges has increased in 1985,
Number of Drivers Losing Driving Privileges**
50000
40000
30000
20000
10000
1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986
**Graph represents the total number of suspensions and revocations
as of December 31st of the year of arrest.
Case With the implementation of the ceived a disposition related to the arrest.
Dispositions statutory summary suspension in 19886, Of those 25,255 dispositions, 82 percent

DUI cases can now be tracked from the
time of arrest to the disposition of the
case. The Secretary of State’s office is
now capable of recording a greater
amount of information on DUI cases than
ever before. Prior to Jan. 1, 1984, the Seec-
retary of State’s office received only
reports of DUI convietions and cases in
which the driver received court super-
vision and was referred to an aleohol
remedial education or rehabilitation pro-
gram. The 1984 law requires Illinois
courts to inform the Secretary of State’s
office of all DUI cases in which drivers
are granted court supervision.

Judges are prohibited from granting
court supervision more than once within
a five-year period. By allowing the Sec-
retary of State's office to record all dis-
positions of court supervision, prose-
cutors and courts can identify repeat
offenders from information on their driv-
ing records and progressive penalties can
be applied. :

During 1986, this office recorded
55,104 DUI arrests where the driver
either failed or refused the chemical test.
Of those, 46 percent (25,255) have re-

8

(8,049) resulted in convictions. In 46
percent (11,587) of the cases, drivers
received court supervision and were
referred to remedial education programs.
Drivers were granted court supervision
without being referred to a remedial
education program in 15 percent (8,772)
of the cases. In seven percent (1,847) of
the cases, other dispositions, such as
reckless driving, were received.

DUI Case Dispositions

Convictions
32% Referrals

46%
/

15% /
Supervision N 7%
Only Other




Administrative License Revocation and

Restricted Driving Permits

The Secretary of State’s office has the
authority to administratively revoke the
license of a driver who is involved in a
crash resulting in a fatality or serious
bodily injury and is charged with DUI or
another serious offense. Through this
policy, dangerous drivers are removed
from the highways during the many
months it often takes the courts to dis-
pose of DUI and reckless homicide cases.
Driving privileges are revoked only after
receiving substantial evidence from a
state’s attorney.

From November 1983 through Decem-
ber 1986, the Secretary of State's office
administratively revoked the licenses of
251 drivers. Of these 251 cases, 210
involved one or more traffic fatalities for
a total of 236 deaths. The average blood

alcohol content for drivers tested after a
crash was .17 — — nearly double the legal
level of intoxication.

In April of 1986, the Illinois Supreme
Court upheld the administrative revoca-
tion program. It was held that the pro-
cedure did not violate a person’s due
process rights. While the court recog-
nized that a drivers license is a privilege
which is deserving of protection, this
privilege is outweighed by the publie
interest in controlling the impaired
driver.

Driving privileges remain revoked
until the case is adjudicated. However,
the driver who receives an administrative
revocation may appeal the revocation
through the administrative hearing
process.

Administrative
License
Revocation

Drivers whose licenses are revoked
for a DUI criminal conviction may apply
to the Secretary of State’s office for a
restricted driving permit (RDP) enabling
them to drive to and from their place of
work, in conjunction with their job and
for medical purposes when no other form
of transportation is available. Drivers
who are multiple offenders and have
received a summary suspension can also
apply for an RDP after 90 days of their
suspension.

To obtain an RDP, a motorist must
meet certain administrative requirements

and appear before a hearing officer in the
Secretary of State’s Department of
Administrative Hearings. The driver
must show that the loss of driving priv-
ileges would cause undue hardship and
that the problem which caused the sus-
pension or revocation has been resolved.
The applicant must undergo an alcohol
evaluation and remedial education or
rehabilitation when appropriate. The
applicant’s driving record is carefully
reviewed and must indicate the driver
would not pose a threat to public safety.

Restricted Driving Permits Issued for

Alcohol-Related Offenses

1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986
DUI
Revocations 1,898 1483 620 900 218 682 1,201 2,099 3,112
Out-of-State
DUI* 758 674 441 242 113 200 200 422 645
Implied
Consent 1,253 1,126 402 160 55 106 325 376 264
TOTAL 3,909 3,283 1463 1,302 386 988 1,726 2,897 4,021

*llinois drivers convicted of DUI in another state.

Restricted
Driving
Permit




Reinstatement

Reinstatement and Alcohol & Drug

Evaluations

In order to have a revoked drivers
license reinstated, a driver convicted of
an aleohol or drug-related traffic offense
must meet certain requirements including:

® Undergoing an alcohol and drug
evaluation. If the evaluation in-
dicates there is an alcohol or drug
problem, the driver will be reguired
to submit proof of treatment.

e Successfully completing an aleohol
and drug remedial education pro-
gram. If the evaluation does not
recommend treatment, the driver
will still be required to complete a
remedial education program.

e Appearing before a Secretary of
State hearing officer. If thisisa
driver’s first offense, an informal
hearing may be scheduled with a
hearing officer at one of the regional
driver services facilities across the
state. If this is a subsequent offense,
a formal hearing must be scheduled
with a hearing officer in Springfield,
Chicago or Mt. Vernon.

During the informal hearing or formal
hearing:

— The driver must demonstrate that
if his driving privileges are
restored, he will not endanger
public safety.

— The hearing officer will consider
the person’s overall driving
record, the seriousness of the
offense for which the driving
privileges were removed, and the
driver's remedial efforts.

Prior to obtaining a reinstateraent, a
revoked driver is also required by
law to:

— File proof of financial respon-
sibility.
~ Pay a $60 reinstatement fee.

— Pass the full drivers license
examination and pay the approp-
riate license fee.

Evaluations

A first-time DUI offender who re-
fuses to submit to or fails to pass chem-
ical testing must undergo an aleohol and
drug evaluation prior to the issuance of a
judieial driving permit (JDP). Evalu-
ations also are required prior to sentenc-
ing. The Secretary of State’s office
requires an evaluation from a multiple
offender prior to issuing a restricted driv-
ing permit (RDP) for the statutory sum-
mary suspension or from any convicted
DUI offender prior to issuing an RDP or
license reinstatement.

The results of the aleohol and/or drug
evaluation are classified into three dis-
tinet categories: Level I — Non-Prob-
lematic Use; Level II — Problematic Use;
and, Level III — Problematic Use,
Dependent.

Level I — Non-Problematic Use

General indicators of this elassifi-
cation include:

e No prior aleohol or drug-related
disposition.

¢ No impairment in significant life
areas, such as marital, legal, social,
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emotional, voeational, physical and
financial, as a result of alechol or
drug use for a period of at least 12
months.

e Blood aleohol concentration (BAC)
at the time of arrest of less than .15.

Level I1 — Problematic Use

General indicators of this classifica-
tion include:

e Any prior alcohol or drug-related
driving disposition.

e Impairment in at least one signifi-
cant life area as a result of alcohol or
drug use within the past 12 months.

o BAC at the time of arrest of .15 or
greater.

Level III - Problematic Use,
Dependent

General indicators of this classifica-
tion include:

e More than one prior aleohol or drug-
related driving disposition within the
last five years.




Evaluations and Underage Drinking & Driving

e Impairment in more than one signif- e Symptoms of alcohol or drug Evaluations
icant life area. dependence, (Continued)
® BAC at the time of arrest of .20 or ® Any offender having three or more
greater aleohol or drug-related driving dis-
' positions in the last five years.
Underage
Drinking &
Driving

Secretary Edgar describes the benefits of Illinois’ new “Under 217 drivers licenses.

Traffic accidents are a major cause of
death for persons between the ages of 15
and 24. Studies nationwide show that 60
percent of fatally injured teenagers had
alcohol in their blood.

An estimated 1,000 lives a year could
be saved by raising the minimum legal
drinking age to 21 in all states. Under
current federal legislation, states which
did not establish a 21-year-old drinking
age by Oct. 1, 1986 lost a portion of their
highway funds. Seven states still do not
have a minimum drinking age of 21.

Since the Illinois drinking age has
been raised to 21, Illinois counties which
border states with a 21-year-old drinking
age have recorded a 35 percent decline in
the number of young drivers killed on
highways. Traffic fatalities for this age
group have declined only 11 percent in
counties which border the states of Iowa
and Wisconsin where, until recently, the
drinking age was 19,

Illinois drivers under age 21 are
currently issued a special drivers license
which has a red background and the
words ‘“Under 21" plainly printed on
both sides. This license was designed to
enable persons who sell alcohol to more
readily identify underage patrons.

Severe penalties have been imposed
upon the minor who drives under the
influence. The intent of these penalties is
to act as a deterrent to potential and sub-
sequent offenders.

The first offender faces a two-year
drivers license revocation. The driver is
not eligible to apply for a restricted driv-
ing permit (RDP) until the beginning of
the second year of the revocation.

The RDP issued to a minor is valid
for one year. The permit allows the offend-
er to drive only between the hours of
5 a.m. and 9 p.m. or hours otherwise pro-
vided by code. After the second year, the
driver may reapply for a drivers license
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Underage
Drinking &
Driving
(Continued)

Underage Drinking & Driving and

Prevention Education

and must pay a $60 reinstatement fee.
Reinstatement is granted at the discre-
tion of the Secretary of State. If rein-
statement is not granted, the Secretary
of State may decide to extend the RDP
by additional periods of a year until the
applicant reaches 21 years of age. In
making this decision, the Secretary of
State’s office will consider the violator's
driving record subsequent to the issuance
of the RDP.

The penalties for a person under age
21 arrested for DUI are far more severe
for the subsequent offender. The offend-
er’s drivers license is revoked and the

driver is prohibited from applying for
reinstatement or an RDP until reaching
age 21 or for one year from the date of
the latest convietion, whichever is longer.

Many youth groups have been estab-
lished in Illinois in response to the prob-
lem of teen drinking and driving. The
purpose of these groups is to promote
responsible driving habits among persons
under age 21. One of the major organi-
zations heading this effort is Students
Against Driving Drunk. In 1986, there
were 203 SADD chapters being spon-
sored by Illinois schools.

Prevention
Education

The Taylorville Chapter of Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD) used an overturned car
to discourage teen peers from drinking and driving.

To solve the DUI problem, individual
behavior and attitudes about the dangers
of driving under the influence will have
to change. The Secretary of State’s office
and the Illinois Department of Transpor-
tation are key sources of DUI informa-
tion, including educational materials,
statisties and other information. All Illi-
nois driver services facilities provide
drivers license manuals which contain
DUI facts and related laws. Several DUI
informational brochures are also avail-
able at these facilities. Another source of
DUI information is the Illinois Traffic
Safety Leaders, a volunteer organization
which encourages state and local involve-
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ment in traffic safety issues. Pamphlets
and programs about DUI laws and the
cost of drunk driving are also available
from this organization.

Evidence indicates that the earlier
education about aleohol, other drugs and
highway safety begins, the more effective
it is likely to be. The Secretary of State’s
office has worked with the Illinois State
Board of Education to develop and pro-
mote highway safety-related drug and
aleohol education programs in kindergar-
ten through 12th grade. At least 400
school districts throughout the state have
implemented DUI edueation programs.




Prevention Education, Liability and
Victims' Rights

There are 222 high schools which Safety Voice to Peers (RSVP). This pro- Prevention
sponsor a youth group focused on drink-  gram concentrates on safety during prom Education
ing and driving or substance abuse and and graduation time. In addition, driver (Continued)
203 high schools have started Students education teachers include current infor-

Against Driving Drunk (SADD) chapters. mation and material on the effects of

Another youth program sponsored by aleohol and other drugs on highway

Illinois high schools is Responsible safety in their curricula.

Dram Shop Responsibility Parental Responsibility Liability

It is unlawful to sell, give or deliver It is a Class C misdemeanor to
alcohol to any minor, intoxicated person, knowingly allow gatherings of two or
or any person known to be under legal more persons at a residence where per-
disability or in need of mental treatment.  sons under age 18 are drinking aleohol
If a crash occurs as a result of aleohol and where the minors leave in an intox-
being supplied to a person in one of the icated condition.
above mentioned categories, the person
or owner of the establishment which sup- Hotel/Motel Responsibility
plied the alcohol may be held liable. The . .
liability will be limited to $30,000 for It is a Class C misdemeanor for any-
crashes involving property damage or one to knowingly rent a hotel or motel
personal injury. If a loss of a means of room for use by persons under age 21 to
support due to death or injury occurs, consume alcohol.
liability extends up to $40,000.

As a result of the efforts of the 1985 However, as DUI is a crime against Vlctlms'
Illinois DUI Task Force and the Illinois the publie, the bulk of the cases are nghts

General Assembly, the rights of vietims
of aleohol-related offenses have been
recognized. Primarily, these victims’
rights involve information concerning
the progress and disposition of a DUI
case. These rights include:

1. Notification of all court dates.

2. Victims are permitted to present writ-
ten statements to the court concerning
the case.

3. Victims have the right to make an oral
statement at the DUI offenders’ sen-
tencing hearing.

4. The victim has the right to request
information about the case being
investigated by law enforcement
authorities.

5. Vietims may retain an attorney at
their own expense if they desire.

brought by the State of Illinois on the
behalf of the plaintiff.

6. The defendant and the plaintiff may
request one substitution of a judge in a
DUI case if the judge is deemed prej-
udiced by either party.

7. The presentence report should be pre-
pared and considered by the court at
all sentencing hearings. The report
should include, in addition to other
pertinent information, a vietim impact
statement.

8. Judges are required to state, for the
record, their reasons for sentencing an
offender in any case involving personal
injury or death.

9. The vietim is enabled to obtain infor-
mation which could lead to restitution.
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Suspensions and Revocations in Effect as of

% Change % Change

COUNTY 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1981-1986 1985-1986
Adams 92 110 85 76 96 273 197% 184%
Alexander 27 39 24 27 14 56 104% 293%
Bond 15 25 11 13 14 24 60% 1%
Boone 45 56 42 46 61 201 347% 230%
Brown 2 8 1 2 10 11 450% 10%
Bureau 12 24 44 23 54 130 983% 141%
Calhoun 3 2 6 9 2 29 867% 1350%
Carroll 30 48 54 41 33 47 57% 42%
Cass 9 9 11 18 15 81 800% 440%
Champaign 74 139 208 215 257 371 401% 44%
Christian 47 93 101 48 54 138 194% 156%
Clark 40 15 26 36 31 79 98% 155%
Clay 8 4 8 6 21 30 275% 43%
Clinton 28 55 73 67 52 182 550% 250%
Coles 28 47 54 88 52 195 596% 2756%
Cook
—Dist 1 1,402 1,569 2,062 2,281 2,561 4,755 2389% 86%
— Dist 2 205 281 448 544 561 2,377 1060% 324%
— Dist 3 317 401 512 631 721 3,193 907% 343%
— Dist 4 105 146 96 169 264 727 592% 175%
— Dist 5 272 341 348 456 614 2,141 687% 249%
— Dist 6 293 859 429 679 759 2,325 694% 206%
Crawford 5 15 17 20 43 95 1800% 121%
Cumberland 2 9 9 6 7 23 1050% 229%
DeKalb 60 62 74 101 87 508 738% 478%
DeWitt 30 56 62 47 51 70 133% 37%
Douglas 19 23 27 28 23 84 342% 265%
DuPage 296 326 285 571 672 4,052 1269% 503%
Edgar 31 40 31 38 39 139 348% 256%
Edwards 7 3 9 10 1 19 171% 1800%
Effingham 34 47 42 35 55 138 306% 151%
Fayette 21 38 32 41 47 92 338% 96%
Ford 10 8 19 15 18 80 700% 344%
Franklin 4 22 56 68 66 188 4475% 177%
Fulton 59 47 43 37 13 111 88% 764%
Gallatin 7 16 35 33 27 80 1043% 196%
Greene 3 6 10 3 12 56 1767% 367%
Grundy 5 15 20 33 26 156 3020% 500%
Hamilton 6 15 15 10 17 9 50% -47%
Hancock 15 22 18 26 26 68 353% 162%
Hardin 1 6 3 3 9 17 1600% 89%
Henderson 29 25 60 46 8 48 66% 500%
Henry 38 40 52 99 85 230 5056% 171%
Iroquois 39 3 25 47 41 116 197% 183%
Jackson 32 65 67 101 139 686 2044% 894%
Jasper 5 2 9 9 20 63 1160% 215%
Jefferson 11 26 24 40 37 104 845% 181%
Jersey 10 8 19 14 30 171 1610% 470%
Jo Daviess 5 5 11 15 43 57 1040% 33%
Johnson 4 12 29 11 10 44 1000% 340%
Kane 184 161 257 808 326 1,686 1158% 417%
Kankakee 35 55 80 107 70 296 746% 323%
Kendall 7 23 14 40 36 160 2186% 344%
Knox 94 76 39 89 52 162 62% 192%
Lake 103 410 736 857 764 3,197 3004% 318%
LaSalle 53 59 106 116 138 414 681% 200%
Lawrence - 18 34 27 29 21 97 439% 362%

* Only one license action per arrest
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December 31st of the Year of Arrest

% Change % Change
COUNTY 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1981-1986 1985-1986
Lee 69 51 59 55 81 322 367% 298%
Livingston 12 28 38 32 32 89 642% 178%
Logan 44 62 66 71 60 155 252% 158%
McDonecugh 16 34 33 23 33 208 1200% 530%
- McHenry 53 151 243 198 210 980 1749% 367%
McLean 37 i 107 97 151 566 1430% 275%
Macon 95 70 118 132 146 415 337% 184%
Macoupin 27 36 51 33 46 198 633% 330%
Madison 82 183 245 229 141 1,388 1593% 884%
Marion 71 105 114 150 149 287 304% 93%
Marshall 2 2 3 4 15 65 3150% 333%
Mason 10 9 14 14 12 47 370% 292%
Massac 28 28 21 31 16 98 250% 513%
Menard 11 12 11 8 26 22 100% -15%
Mercer 5 10 10 9 13 47 840% 262%
Monroe 12 16 25 21 18 79 558% 339%
Montgomery 73 87 83 37 38 127 4% 234%
Morgan 20 19 26 37 54 187 835% 246%
Moultrie 30 37 26 34 27 31 3% 16%
Ogle 54 54 70 72 81 205 280% 153%
Peoria 45 107 315 212 167 621 1280% 272%
Perry 40 35 49 63 83 208 420% 151%
Piatt 14 27 20 23 12 49 250% 308%
Pike 7 10 19 19 7 44 529% 529%
Pope 6 7 2 3 0 16 167% -
Pulaski 6 7 9 2 15 26 333% 73%
Putnam 7 0 3 3 4 5 -29% 25%
Randolph 22 62 85 86 52 166 655% 219%
Richland 15 14 26 39 36 64 327% 8%
Rock Island 115 150 143 226 281 1,191 936% 324%
St. Clair 90 154 239 195 62 1,447 1508% 2234%
Saline 12 42 50 72 55 238 1883% 333%
Sangamon 139 141 160 172 227 1,220 T78% 437%
Schuyler 3 3 3 6 4 16 433% 300%
Scott 2 1 4 4 4 i1 450% 175%
Shelby 21 14 27 13 22 35 67% 59%
Stark 2 4 1 1 4 18 800% 350%
Stephenson 81 105 113 101 78 198 144% 154%
Tazewell 106 182 175 176 203 670 532% 230%
Union 24 20 21 13 28 73 204% 161%
Vermilion 66 34 62 T4 126 419 535% 233%
Wabash 44 45. 37 30 33 95 116% 188%
Warren 46 37 32 20 21 62 35% 195%
Washington 8 14 20 18 17 71 788% 318%
Wayne 4 8 6 21 24 66 1550% 175%
White 45 52 60 35 30 106 136% 253%
Whiteside 79 105 115 120 132 329 316% 149%
Will 80 208 302 267 321 1,436 1695% 347%
Williamson 34 48 34 27 86 215 532% 150%
Winnebago 182 358 591 393 244 1,404 671% 475%
Woodford 17 26 21 19 15 83 388% 453%
TOTALS
Cook 2,594 3,097 3,895 4,810 5,480 15,518 498% 183%
Downstate 3,805 5,676 7,208 7,513 7,667 31,460 727% 316%
Statewide 6,399 8,673 11,103 12,323 13,047 46,978 634% 260%
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Statutory Summary Suspensions in

Susp. Not # Of Drivers # Of Drivers Percent Of
Total In Effect # Of Drivers Who Have Lost Who Have Not Drivers Who
Sum. Susp. As Of Eligible For Driving Lost Driving Lost Driving
COUNTY Processed 12/31/86 Suspension Privileges Privileges Privileges

Adams 300 24 276 268 8 9%
Alexander 68 10 58 55 3 95%
Bond 26 1 25 24 1 967%
Boone 228 15 213 200 18 94%
Brown 15 2 13 11 2 85%
Bureau 143 11 132 127 5 96%
Calhoun 30 0 30 29 1 97%
Carroll 51 4 47 47 0 100%
Cass 92 7 85 81 4 95%
Champaign 497 39 458 360 98 79%
Christian 159 20 139 136 38 98%
Clark 83 7 76 75 1 99%
Clay 31 1 30 30 0 100%
Clinton 200 11 189 181 8 96%
Coles 237 37 200 195 5 98%
Cock

— Dist 1 5,465 497 4,968 4,579 389 92%
— Dist 2 2,811 210 2,601 2,339 262 90%
— Dist 3 3,834 354 3,480 3,139 341 90%
— Dist 4 844 60 784 720 64 92%
— Dist b 2,475 224 2,251 2,094 157 93%
— Dist 6 2,684 246 2,438 2,289 149 94%
Crawford 105 11 94 93 1 99%
Cumberland 25 1 24 23 1 96%
DeKalb 586 32 554 499 55 90%
DeWitt 93 19 74 63 6 92%
Douglas 97 4 93 84 9 90%
DuPage 4,832 449 4,383 4,004 379 91%
Edgar 146 11 135 135 0 100%
Edwards 24 4 20 18 2 90%
Effingham 175 26 149 138 11 93%
Fayette 105 12 93 90 3 97%
Ford 91 6 85 Vi 8 91%
Franklin 207 15 192 179 13 93%
Fulton 125 12 113 109 4 96%
Gallatin 83 10 78 7 1 99%
Greene 78 13 60 56 4 93%
Grundy 178 12 166 154 12 93%
Hamilton 12 1 11 9 2 82%
Hancock i) 6 71 68 3 96%
Hardin 19 1 18 17 1 94%
Henderson 69 11 58 48 10 83%
Henry 255 25 230 225 5 98%
Iroquois 139 13 126 115 11 91%
Jackson 784 95 689 683 6 99%
Jasper 69 5 64 63 1 98%
Jefferson 122 17 105 104 1 99%
Jersey 208 23 185 171 14 92%
Jo Daviess 62 3 59 56 3 95%
Johnson 47 3 44 42 2 95%
Kane 2,151 156 1,995 1,672 323 84%
Kankakee 459 41 418 233 125 0%
Kendall 177 11 166 157 9 95%
Knox 166 9 157 152 5 97%
Lake 3,770 274 3,496 3,140 356 90%
LaSalle 467 39 428 400 28 93%
Lawrence 107 9 98 97 1 99%




Effect as of December 31, 1986

Susp. Not # Of Drivers # Of Drivers Percent Of
Total In Effect # Of Drivers Who Have Lost Who Have Not  Drivers Who
Sum. Suasp. As Of Eligible For Driving Lost Driving Lost Driving
COUNTY Proeessed 12/31/86 Suspension Privileges Privileges Privileges

Lee 370 40 330 321 9 97%
Livingston 103 12 91 89 2 98%
Logan 183 17 166 155 11 93%
McDonough 231 18 213 208 5 98%
McHenry 1,261 86 1,175 970 205 83%
Mcl.ean 646 69 577 564 13 98%
Macon 455 34 421 409 12 97%
Macoupin 233 22 211 194 17 92%
Madison 1,626 146 1,480 1,395 95 94%
Marion 326 18 308 286 22 93%
Marshall 70 7 63 63 0 100%
Mason 66 5 61 46 15 75%
Massac 118 18 100 97 3 97%
Menard 24 3 21 20 1 95%
Mercer 52 2 50 47 3 94%
Monroe 86 4 82 78 4 95%
Montgomery 169 31 138 126 12 91%
Morgan 215 26 189 185 4 98%
Moultrie 32 2 30 30 0 100%
Ogle 228 15 213 204 9 96%
Peoria T04 69 635 614 21 97%
Perxry 217 7 210 205 5 98%
Piatt 53 3 50 49 1 98%
Pike 51 4 47 43 4 91%
Pope 17 1 16 16 0 100%
Pulaski 27 2 25 23 2 92%
Putnam 5 0 5 5 0 100%
Randolph 176 8 168 165 3 98%
Richland 75 8 67 62 5 93%
Rock Island 1,348 130 1,213 1,178 35 97%
St. Clair 1,682 168 1,514 1,442 72 95%
Saline 255 15 240 236 4 98%
Sangamon 1,383 128 1,260 1,214 46 96%
Schuyler 19 3 16 16 0 100%
Scott 13 1 12 9 3 5%
Shelby 40 5 35 34 1 97%
Stark 20 1 19 18 1 95%
Stephenson 218 17 201 196 5 98%
Tazewell 800 93 707 669 38 95%
Union 85 7 8 72 6 92%
Vermilion 488 47 441 410 31 93%
Wabash 107 11 96 95 1 99%
Warren 68 8 60 60 0 100%
Washington 83 6 77 71 6 92%
Wayne 74 8 66 66 0 100%
White 111 7 104 104 0 100%
Whiteside 374 38 336 326 10 97%
will 1,723 153 1,570 1,401 169 89%
Williamson 349 29 320 211 109 66%
Winnebago 1,572 124 1,448 1,390 58 96%
Woodford 95 9 86 82 4 95%
TOTALS

Cook 18,113 1,591 16,522 15,160 1,362 92%
Downstate 36,991 8,248 33,743 31,094 2,649 92%
Statewide 55,104 4,839 50,265 46,254 4,011 92%
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