U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs
OJP Blog

Recognizing Impact on Victims' Services: Nominations Open for the 2016 National Crime Victims' Service Awards

Tuesday, July 14, 2015
By Marilyn Roberts
Marilyn Roberts is a Deputy Director of the Office for Victims of Crime and manages the National Crime Victims’ Service Awards Ceremony annually.

For more than 30 years, OJP’s Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) has recognized extraordinary individuals and organizations through the National Crime Victims' Service Awards. These awards, which are presented each April in Washington, DC during National Crime Victims’ Rights Week, recognize individuals and organizations that demonstrate outstanding achievements in supporting our Nation's victims and victim service providers.

This year, there are 11 award categories, including a new category designed to honor and highlight youth who have dedicated their efforts to supporting victims of crime. Through the inaugural Tomorrow's Leaders Award, OVC is proud to recognize the courage and leadership of youth up to age 24 who have taken a stand against bullying, peer pressure, campus sexual assault, or victimization of minorities. It is our Nation’s youth who will play a leading role in victim services as the 21st century progresses, and will help ensure that the field reaches victims in ways that work best for victims.

This year, Congress has expanded the Crime Victims Fund’s obligation limitation to the highest in the Fund’s history. With this generous increase to the amount available from the Fund—a major source of support for victims' services throughout the Nation—it is even more important to honor those individuals and programs that represent the highest achievement and innovation in victim services. By presenting these prestigious awards, we can foster champions in the field.

We strongly encourage you to nominate an exemplary organization or individual to receive recognition for their outstanding service in supporting victims and victim services. Nominations for all National Crime Victims' Service Awards are made by the public through the Online Nomination Form. OVC is currently accepting nominations for the 2016 National Crime Victims' Service Awards through Thursday, July 30, 2015. The award recipients will be honored for their contributions at the 2016 National Crime Victims' Service Awards Ceremony, which will be held on April 12, 2016 in Washington, DC during National Crime Victims' Rights Week.

At this past April’s National Crime Victims' Service Awards Ceremony, OVC presented awards to 12 individuals and organizations for their exemplary service to victims of crime and victim services. If you would like to learn more about their wonderful work and contributions to the field, please visit the OVC gallery or watch the 2015 award recipient tribute videos on OVC's YouTube page. Each of these dedicated award recipients is an inspiration to all of us at OVC and demonstrate incredible achievements in many facets of the field. We hope you will consider nominating outstanding persons and organizations for a 2016 National Crime Victims' Service Award.

Stay Connected Rss E-mail Facebook Twitter

Go to Top
text heading of Stay Connected with graphics for RSS Feed, Email updates, and social media logos RSS E-mail Facebook Twitter