U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs
News Center
Press Releases Horizontal line Speeches Testimony Events Reports & Publications Newsroom Home

Medal of Valor AwardsMedal of Valor Awards

On September 22, 2010, Vice President Joe Biden, Attorney General Eric Holder, Assistant Attorney General Laurie Robinson, and various distinguished guests gathered to honor this year’s Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor recipients.

The medal is awarded annually by the President to public safety officers who have exhibited exceptional courage, regardless of personal safety, in the attempt to save or protect human life. To receive the Medal of Valor, public safety officers must be nominated by the chief executive officer of their employing agencies, recommended by the bipartisan Medal of Valor Review Board, and cited by the Attorney General. The Office of Justice Programs’ Bureau of Justice Assistance serves as the federal point of contact for the Medal of Valor initiative.

Stay Connected Rss E-mail Facebook Twitter YouTube

Go to Top
RSS E-mail Facebook Twitter YouTube