U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs
News Center
Press Releases Horizontal line Speeches Testimony Events Reports & Publications Newsroom Home

Medal of Valor

Each day, Public Safety officers risk their lives to protect American Citizens and communities. To honor that commitment, Congress passed the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Act of 2001, which created the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor, the highest national award for valor by a public safety officer.

2005-2006 Medal of Valor recipients. From left to right are Kirk Van Orsdel of the California Highway Patrol; Todd M. Myers of the West Hartford Police Department, Hartford, Connecticut; Attorney General Mukasey; David M. Loving of the Richmond Department of Fire and Emergency Medical Services, Richmond, Virginia; and Kevin M. Howland of the Sacramento Police Department, Sacramento, California. Not pictured is Brian D. Rothell of Chesterfield Fire and Emergency Medical Services, Chesterfield, Virginia.


Stay Connected Rss E-mail Facebook Twitter YouTube

Go to Top
RSS E-mail Facebook Twitter YouTube