DOJ Press Release letterhead

JUNE 15, 2004
Contact: Joan LaRocca
(202) 307-0703


     WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Justice Department is accepting nominations through July 30, 2004, for the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor, the highest national award for valor by a public safety officer. The medal is awarded annually by the President to public safety officers cited by the Attorney General, who have exhibited exceptional courage in the attempt to save or protect human life.

     "A nomination for the award is recognition of the selfless acts of courage performed by public safety personnel every day," said Attorney General John Ashcroft. "These men and women risk their lives to protect the lives of others in their communities and our nation is grateful to them."

     Nominations are now being accepted for exceptional acts of valor above and beyond the call of duty accomplished between June 1, 2003 through May 31, 2004. The deadline for receipt of nominations is July 30, 2004. The Medal of Valor Review Board, composed of representatives of the public safety community and the general public, and appointed by the President, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the U.S. Senate, and the Speaker and the Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives, will review all nominations and recommend individuals for recognition.

     Additional information on the Medal of Valor, including the nomination form and procedures, is located on the Office of Justice Programs' (OJP) Web site at

     OJP provides federal leadership in developing the nation's capacity to prevent and control crime, administer justice, and assist crime victims. OJP is headed by an Assistant Attorney General and comprises five component bureaus and two offices: the Bureau of Justice Assistance, the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and the Office for Victims of Crime, as well as the Office of the Police Corps and Law Enforcement Education, and the Community Capacity Development Office, which incorporates the Weed and Seed program.