Office for Victims of Crime - Justice for Victims. Justice for All
Justice for Victims. Justice for All
Facebook     Twitter     You TubeEventsDirectoryE-Mail Updates

Providers/Community Leaders

State Victim Assistance Academies

State Victim Assistance AcademiesTo fulfill its long-term goal of encouraging victim assistance courses of study across the country, OVC introduced the State Victim Assistance Academy (SVAA) initiative in 1998. The purpose of SVAAs is to provide fundamental, comprehensive, and academically based education and training for victim assistance providers, victim advocates, criminal justice personnel, and allied professionals who routinely deal with crime victims.

Find an SVAA

To find out if your State or Territory has a Victim Assistance Academy, visit the SVAA Locator.

Your state or territory has an active SVAA if it is shaded in blue on the SVAA Locator map below. You can find out more about an SVAA’s application process by e-mailing the point of contact in the alphabetical list of states.

Implement an SVAA

OVC encourages Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Administrators in each state to use VOCA administrative funds to support their SVAA. If your state does not have an SVAA, contact your VOCA Administrator—click on your state on the map and then click the tab "State VOCA Contacts"—to discuss how to implement an SVAA. Your VOCA Administrator may suggest that you speak to an SVAA Project Monitor at OVC to learn more about discretionary grants that may be available for starting a new SVAA.

Training and Technical Assistance for SVAAs

OVC also offers technical assistance, for both prospective and established SVAAs, through its Training and Technical Assistance Center (OVC TTAC), which supports the full range of tasks involved in designing, developing, and delivering high-quality Academy training. To request technical assistance, complete the Training and Technical Assistance Request Form.

If you need assistance with the Request Form, please contact a TA Coordinator at OVC TTAC by calling toll free 866-682-8822 (TTY: 866-682-8880) between 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. EST.

Back to Top

State Victim Assistance Academies Locator

To contact an active SVAA, find a shaded state on the map and consult the alphabetical list of active SVAAs.

Map of Existing State Victim Assistance Academies (SVAAs) Arizona SVAA Arkansas SVAA Colorado SVAA Idaho SVAA Illinois SVAA Iowa SVAA Maine SVAA New Hampshire SVAA New Hampshire SVAA Maryland SVAA Maryland SVAA Massachusetts SVAA Massachusetts SVAA Minnesota SVAA Missouri SVAA New Jersey New Jersey New York SVAA North Dakota Oregon SVAA Rhode Island Rhode Island South Carolina SVAA Texas Victim Assistance Academy Vermont SVAA Vermont SVAA Virginia SVAA West Virginia Utah SVAA Florida SVAA

Back to Top

Active SVAAs

State Contact E-mail Address
Alaska Susan Sullivan ssullivan@victimsforjustice.org
Arizona Connie Chapman avaaacademy@gmail.com
Arkansas Mary Parker mlparker@ualr.edu
Colorado Amy Gerstner amy@coloradocrimevictims.org
District of Columbia Daniza Figueroa daniza.figueroa@dc.gov
Idaho Jennifer Landhuis jennifer@engagingvoices.org
Illinois Cynthia Hora chora@atg.state.il.us
Indiana Karen Duncan kduncan@incasa.org
Iowa Amy Johnson amyjohnson206@gmail.com
Kansas Adrienne Foster Adrienne.foster@ks.gov
Kentucky Patricia Desrosiers Patricia.Desrosiers@wku.edu
Louisiana Crystal Foster Crystal.Foster@lcle.la.gov
Maine Sheri Moulton moulton@usm.maine.edu
New Hampshire Danielle Snook Danielle.Snook@doj.nh.gov
Maryland Debra L. Stanley dstanley@ubalt.edu
Massachusetts Kevin Becker kbtrauma@aol.com
Minnesota Danette Buskovick danette.buskovick@state.mn.us
Missouri Kathleen Tofall tofallk@stlouiscao.org
Montana John Frederikson john.frederikson@umontana.edu
Nebraska Lauren Pilnick laurenPilnick@creighton.edu
Nevada Christine Lovass-Nagy clovass-nagy@dcfs.nv.gov
New Jersey Sandra Moroso smoroso@ssw.rutgers.edu
North Dakota Gary Rabe Gary.Rabe@minotstateu.edu
Oklahoma Fara Coffey Fara.Coffey@oag.ok.gov
Oregon Mary Sasaki mcsasakior@comcast.net
Pennsylvania Lisabeth Capozzi lcapozzi@pdaa.org
Rhode Island Susan Erstling erstlingsu@familyserviceri.org
South Carolina Ethel Ford eford@oepp.sc.gov
Tennessee Katie Czerwinski KCzerwinski@tncoalition.org
Texas Stephanie Books director@txvsa.org
Utah Christine Watters cwatters@utah.gov
Vermont Mandy Park mandy.park@ccvs.state.vt.us
Virginia Melissa Roberson melissa.roberson@dcjs.virginia.gov
Washington Richard Torrance richard.torrance@commerce.wa.gov
West Virginia Amy Landers alanders@wvcadv.org
Wisconsin Devin Rieckmann-Sell rieckman@fvtc.edu

Back to Top

EventsDirectoryE-Mail UpdatesRSS
Facebook     Twitter     You Tube
Showcase
OVC Help Series for Crime Victims. Who To Call. Facts To Know. Download Brochures.